The Carbondale Observer

News and commentary about Carbondale, Illinois and SIUC

Introductory Post

with 2 comments

Hello readers!  This is the first post to my new blog, The Carbondale Observer.  I’m excited to start blogging!  I plan to blog about Carbondale, SIUC, Jackson County, and the surrounding area.

Normally, this is where I’d tell you about myself.  I have decided to blog anonymously, so I’m going to skip that part.  Who I am, where I’m from, my age, my job, my religion, my racial and gender identities, and my political views are not relevant to this blog, so I am going to leave those out.

I do want to tell you a little about what to expect from this blog.  My tagline is “news and commentary about Carbondale, Illinois and SIUC.”  Expect more commentary than news.  The Southern Illinoisan, the Daily Egyptian, and the Carbondale Times (no website) already provide news coverage.  I lack the time, resources, and contacts to compete with them.

I’m more interested in commentary and analysis.  I’m interested in social capital, economic development and entrepreneurship, community development, architecture and urban design, arts, culture, and conservation.  I am especially interested in the connections and relationships between people and institutions.  I expect to blog about these topics.

I will tell you one thing about myself.  I tend to think in terms of problems and solutions.  In any context or situation, I’m interested in what’s not working.  I like to identify problems, then propose and evaluate solutions.  It would be easy to mistake a problem/solution orientation for negativity, so I’ll be careful to also post about what is working, and not just about what isn’t.

Finally, I promise to be as fair and accurate as possible.  We all have preferences and biases, and I can’t promise mine won’t creep into this blog from time to time.  Sometimes situations are murky and it isn’t possible to say with certainty what is true.  In these cases I’ll do the best I can.  But I will never post anything on this blog that I know or suspect to be false, and I’ll confirm information when possible.

Comments are welcome, but keep it clean.  I will delete comments that are libelous or hateful.

I hope you enjoy reading!

Written by The Carbondale Observer

October 4, 2010 at 8:00 am

Posted in Housekeeping Posts

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. While I respect your decision to remain anonymous, I have to question your statement that, “Who I am, where I’m from, my age, my job, my religion, my racial and gender identities, and my political views are not relevant to this blog, so I am going to leave those out”. A person’s biography and political & religious views are always relevant in everything he/she does, says, acts upon, perceives, and so forth. These qualities are the core of who we are and what we believe. Why not be up front about these things so that the reader can understand the point of view you’re coming from? Also, is it fair to remain anonymous, but then ask anyone who wishes to leave a comment for their name and email? I don’t think so. I’m not trying to criticize you, I just think your blogs would carry more weight if you were honest about these things. With that said, I enjoy your blog and think you bring an interesting perspective to some pertinent issues in Carbondale.

    IlaGood

    October 13, 2010 at 9:05 am

  2. IlaGood,

    Thanks for the comment and the kind words!

    I didn’t realize that you would have to leave a name and email in order to leave a comment. I changed that setting. Anonymous comments are now allowed.

    It’s true that our personal biographies influence our views. I can understand why you would want to know the personal biography of a blogger.

    On the other hand, if I put up a name and a biography, the blog would suddenly be about me. I don’t want the blog to be about me.

    As for credibility, I think ideas should be judged on their own merit. It isn’t important who put the idea on a blog.

    Maybe there is some middle ground. Maybe I’ll put up a statement on my editorial position. First I’ll have to figure out what my editorial position is.

    I hope you’ll keep reading even though I’m blogging anonymously.

    The Carbondale Observer

    October 13, 2010 at 7:49 pm


Leave a Reply

