The Carbondale Observer

News and commentary about Carbondale, Illinois and SIUC

Blogging Hiatus Over, Posting Frequency Uncertain

with 4 comments

I’m sure readers have noticed that I’ve been on an extended hiatus from blogging. There are a couple of reasons for the break. First, and most important, I’ve had other priorities. Second, I made a promise to myself when I started the blog that I would never resort to nastiness. During and immediately after the faculty strike at SIUC, I felt that I could not write anything in this space without it turning ugly.

Regular readers will know that I opposed a strike by any of the four IEA unions. I want to be clear about this. I support the right of workers to organize, and I support the right of unions to strike. I’ve walked a picket line myself. But that does not mean that I think every union is a good union or that every strike is a good strike.

I won’t comment on whether I think the IEA unions are good unions, but I will tell you that I think the faculty strike was foolish. I suspect that it damaged SIUC and this community (we’ll know for sure when enrollment numbers for spring and fall 2012 are in). Despite the union’s attempts to blame the administration, I think the union is responsible for the strike and whatever damage it causes.

I think the damage to the university and the community achieved very little. The union will argue that it won the strike. I think the fact that the faculty returned to work without a tentative agreement suggests otherwise.

I have no desire to re-fight the destructive and unnecessary union wars that occupied most of the last year. There is no point in discussing it. Reason is not an antidote to suicidal fanaticism. I’ve said my piece, and I’ve been as restrained as I can be. Now I hope never to discuss it again.

One last thing: I’m blogging again, but I can’t say for sure how frequently I’ll post. I mentioned at the top of this post that I have other priorities, so it’s going to depend how much time I can devote to it. At a minimum, I hope to post on each city council meeting. We’ll see how it goes.

Comments are welcome, but I urge you to take a look at the comment guidelines before posting.

Written by The Carbondale Observer

January 5, 2012 at 7:30 am

Posted in Housekeeping Posts

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nastiness gets more attention, though.

    hanmeng

    January 5, 2012 at 1:16 pm

    • Thanks for the comment! You’re right. Nastiness gets attention, and readership would probably increase if I let the blog turn nasty. But I think nastiness diminishes the dignity of the person engaging in it more than the target, and I value my dignity more than page views. Of course if I were running for office I’d have to adopt a different view. 🙂

      The Carbondale Observer

      January 5, 2012 at 6:09 pm

  2. Glad to have you back even if you insist on being nice. I’ll follow suit by not defending my suicidal fanaticism.

    Dave Johnson

    January 8, 2012 at 5:37 pm


Leave a Reply

